Maps and directions from Sicily

Maps and directions from the Province of Agrigento

The Province of Agrigento is a province in the autonomous island region of Sicily in Italy, situated on its south-western coast. It has an area of about 3,000 square kilometres, and a total population of more and less a half million.
Gela inhabitants founded the province in 6th century B.C. as Akragas. The province was destroyed by the Carthage in 406 B.C. but was later ruled by the Romans, Goths, Byzantines and Arabs. The Arabs rebuilt several parts of the province. Several ancient Doric temples were constructed during the 6th and 5th century B.C. for the purpose of worshiping Hercules, Olympian Jupiter, Juno, Castor, Pollux and Demeter. They are located in the Valley of Temples. The ancient temples and other architectural structures were built using the stones of the hills near Capo San Marco.
The most important cities are Agrigento, Sciacca, Canicattì, Favara, Licata, Porto Empedocle. Agrigento is the birthplace of the noted writer Luigi Pirandello and the philosopher Empedocles. The province faces the Strait of Sicily in the south and is known for its beaches. The beaches of Torre Salsa have been designated as natural reserves and are protected due to their environmental importance.